South Africa is divided into nine provinces, each with its own distinct characteristics and capital city.

Here are the nine provinces of South Africa and their respective capital cities:

Eastern Cape: Capital city – Bhisho The Eastern Cape is known for its stunning coastline, the Wild Coast, and the cities of Port Elizabeth and East London. Bhisho serves as the administrative capital.

Free State: Capital city – Bloemfontein The Free State province is known for its vast open plains and agricultural landscapes. Bloemfontein, also known as the “City of Roses,” is the judicial capital of South Africa and hosts the Supreme Court of Appeal.

Gauteng: Capital city – Johannesburg Gauteng is the economic hub of South Africa and home to the largest city in the country, Johannesburg. It is known for its vibrant urban lifestyle, business opportunities, and cultural diversity.

KwaZulu-Natal: Capital city – Pietermaritzburg KwaZulu-Natal offers a diverse range of attractions, including the Drakensberg Mountains, stunning coastal areas, and game reserves. Pietermaritzburg is the capital city, although Durban is the largest city in the province.

Limpopo: Capital city – Polokwane Limpopo is rich in natural beauty, with game reserves such as the Kruger National Park and cultural heritage sites like Mapungubwe National Park. Polokwane is the capital city and serves as the economic center of the province.

Mpumalanga: Capital city – Nelspruit Mpumalanga is known for its breathtaking landscapes, including the Panorama Route, Blyde River Canyon, and the Kruger National Park. Nelspruit, officially known as Mbombela, is the capital city.

Northern Cape: Capital city – Kimberley The Northern Cape is the largest and most sparsely populated province in South Africa. It is known for its desert landscapes, diamond mines, and the historic city of Kimberley, which serves as the capital.

North West: Capital city – Mahikeng The North West province is renowned for its game reserves, including the Pilanesberg National Park and the Sun City entertainment resort. Mahikeng, formerly known as Mafikeng, is the capital city.

Western Cape: Capital city – Cape Town The Western Cape is known for its stunning coastline, wine regions, Table Mountain, and vibrant city life. Cape Town, one of the most popular tourist destinations in South Africa, is both the legislative capital and the seat of government.

These provinces and their capital cities collectively showcase the diverse landscapes, cultures, and attractions that South Africa has to offer.


Published by


IAM experienced geography teacher with more than three years of teaching and creating content related to geography and other subjects for both high school and college students. hope you will find the content of this website useful to your studies and daily life