What states are west of the Mississippi River?

What states are west of the Mississippi River?

The Mississippi River serves as a natural boundary between several states in the United States. The states that are generally considered to be west of the Mississippi River are:

  1. Minnesota
  2. Iowa
  3. Missouri
  4. Arkansas
  5. Louisiana
  6. Mississippi

These six states are located entirely or partially west of the Mississippi River. It’s important to note that the river does not serve as the exact boundary for all of these states. For example, parts of Minnesota and Louisiana are located on the eastern side of the Mississippi River. Additionally, some states partially border the river while extending beyond it, such as Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Texas, which have territories on both sides of the river.

Published by


IAM experienced geography teacher with more than three years of teaching and creating content related to geography and other subjects for both high school and college students. hope you will find the content of this website useful to your studies and daily life

%d bloggers like this: