The origin of the Coastal Bantu

The Eastern Bantu are Bantu-speaking groups that occupy the area between the rift valley
and coastal Kenya.

communities that belong to the Eastern Bantu.

 The Mijikenda,
 The Pokomo,
 The Taita,
 The Agikuyu,
 The Ameru,
 The Akamba
 The Aembu.

two main classifications of the Eastern Bantu.

 The Coastal Bantu.
 The Highland Bantu.

The Coastal Bantu include:

 The Mijikenda,
 The Pokomo,
 The Taita.

The Highland Bantu include:

 The Akamba,
 Agikuyu,
 Ameru,
 Aembu and Mbeere.

origin of the Coastal Bantu.

 They probably were the first Bantu people to settle in Kenya.

 Their ancestors may have moved from a dispersal point west of Lake Victoria through northern Tanzania to the area between Taita hills and Mount Kilimanjaro.

 Others such as the Mijikenda moved towards the coast, while the Chagga of Tanzania settled to the south. The Taita remained on the hills as the Mijikenda and other groups moved along the coast up to Shungwaya, which may have been somewhere between rivers Juba and Tana. The present highland Bantu moved westwards and eventually occupied their present home areas.

 The Shungwaya dispersal mainly resulted from the southward expansion of the Oromo by 1600AD. The Mijikenda groups started settling in their present home areas in the course of 1700AD. By the beginning of the 19th century, they had settled in their present homeland. The Pokomo on the other hand moved from Shungwaya, following the river Tana. Here, they interacted with Cushites such as the Oromo and the Somali.