Migration and settlement of the Wanga into Kenya

The Wanga Kingdom was founded by the Bahima, who had migrated from western Uganda and who settled at Imanga hills under their King: Muhima, who was referred to by the title Nabongo. Between 1544-1652, Nabongo Muhima founded the Hima dynasty by uniting the different clans that had settled at Imanga.

Shortly after 1652, the Hima dynasty was replaced by the Bashitsetse dynasty under their ruler called Wanga. It was after this ruler (Wanga) that the Kingdom was later named, to become Abawanga or Bawanga (people of Wanga). In most cases, the community is referred to just by the name Wanga.

The Bashitsetse established a more centralized system of government.

During the reign of Nabongo Wamukoya, a group rebelled and formed a parallel kingdom known as Wanga Mukulu of Kweyu. During Nabongo Mumia‟s time, Wanga Mukulu was ruled by Nabongo Sakwa.

The Abawanga suffered attacks from their neighbours. To resist these attacks, Nabongo had to seek assistance from the Europeans. They got assistance from General Hobley.

The British expanded the Wanga traditional rule and made Nabongo a Paramount Chief. As a Paramount Chief, Nabongo Mumia ruled what was known as Eastern Uganda, which include the present Nyanza and Western provinces and parts of Rift Valley (Turkana, Uasin Ngishu, Trans Nzoia, Nandi, Bomet, Kericho, Buret, Baringo, West Pokot, Keiyo, Marakwet and Nakuru) up to Mai Mahiu.

 Through Mumia, the British assisted the Abawanga to fight their enemies e.g. the Ababukusu, Luo, and Iteso. Mumia died in 1949.

the Kings (Nabongos) that reigned over Wanga.

  • Apart from Muhima and Wanga, Other kings (Nabongos) that reigned over Wanga were:

  • Nabongo Wamukoya Netia (1760-1787),
  • Nabongo Osundwa (1787-1814),
  • Nabongo Wamukoya (1814-1841),
  • Nabongo Shiundu –(1841-1882),
  • Nabongo Mumia (1882-1949).